(905) 631-1770 info@literacycouncil.ca

2019 - 2020 Board of Directors

Literacy South Halton

Board Members for 2019 - 2020


Mark Clayton


Vacant September 2019

Vice President

Dr. John Hewson


Sacha Mohan Solomon


Ken Auden

Jean Baylis

Marie Clarke-Davies

Mike Davis

Geoff Gibson

Thomas Kelly

Keith Monrose

Board meetings take place every third Monday of the month from 7:00 – 9:00pm.




Commitment Time

A term of office is two years with two terms maximum per position unless otherwise stated. Elections take place at the Annual General Meeting in June. Board members can be nominated to and appointed at the Board meetings throughout the year.


Roles and Responsibilities

The Board delegates the day-to-day administration and management of the Council to the Executive Director including professional staff; however, the Board bears ultimate responsibility for the nature, extent and quality of the Council’s services.

In addition:

  • Board members must follow the Council policies regarding confidentiality and conflict of interest
  • Pay an annual membership fee of $20.00
  • Understand the relationship of Board members and staff
  • Actively participate in the annual strategic planning process
  • Participate in the active recruitment and selection of new board members
  • Contribute to and support fundraising activities and other outreach events
  • Be an ambassador for the Literacy South Halton
  • Volunteer to lead or participate in other Board committees


Annual General Meeting

This year the 40th Annual General Meeting will take place on Monday June 8th, 2020, in the community room, Fortinos, Appleby Line, Burlington, Ontario.